top of page
  • Writer's pictureANR

What it's Really Like to be an Author

Okay, let's be real, you picture your favorite author in a dark room, at a desk with an old fashioned typewriter, surrounded by bulletin boards with notes and reminders on them. At least that's how I imagine them. But in reality, that's not at all what authors are like. So, what's my normal day-in-the-life look like for me, a young author?


I'm a high school student, so schooling is very important to me. But, for a long list of reasons, that I may one day list in a blog post, I'm homeschooled. I sleep in until about noon on a good day, when one, of the three younger sisters, come to wake me. While I eat a hearty breakfast of Fruity Pebbles™ my mother does our 'morning part' of school. Our morning part of school is a brief history lesson, bible study, and current events conversation.


Once I've gotten my weekly list of assignments for the week, I return to my bedroom and flip my laptop on. I start by checking emails, messages, and social media. From there, it depends on what type of mood I'm in. I run a boutique, a photography studio, and I'm an author. So, whatever mood I'm in depends on which project I work on. If I'm in a writing mood, I'll pick whichever book needs most worked on, and I'll work on it for a few hours before it's time to run errands.


If I go run errands with my parents, then the laptop comes with me, and listen to music in the car while continuing to work on my book. I write and edit, and if my fingers aren't in the mood, then I just read. I'm not embarrassed to admit I read my own books more often than other books. If you're not your number one fan, then who will be?


I usually eat lunch while I'm out, and when I return home, I do chores, homework, feed my dog, and hang out with my sisters. After dinner is when I return to work as an author. And then I write and edit until it's time for bed.


That's it. Seriously. That's the day in the life of an author. It's really that boring. Sorry.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Officially a Bestseller

​ ANR's first poetry book, The Butterfly Project officially hit the charts on Amazon and became the number one best seller in the mood disorders category in 2020. Since then, The Butterfly Project: Ex

bottom of page